While many of these serious injuries are covered by the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation, an injured worker or their surviving family members may be able to file additional claims, including those against negligent third parties, such as the manufacturer of a defective piece of equipment, or a wrongful death claim, if the worker lost their life.
Georgia’s Workers’ Compensation Law mandates dozens of rules that employers and employees must obey. Skipping a step can result in the insurance company denying your claim. If you have been injured on the job:
- Report your accident to your employer immediately. Do not assume a co-worker will report it for you. If you wait more than 30 days to report your accident, you may be denied benefits.
- Your employer must post information regarding the workers’ compensation program as well as a list of at least six doctors you may choose from after a workplace injury.
- If you choose one of the approved six doctors, the doctor must perform an initial evaluation within 24 hours.
- If you receive treatment by a provider not on the list, you must have another evaluation performed by an accepted provider within five working days.
- Write down everything you remember from the accident: what happened, names of witness, time, weather,
- Go to all of your appointments and follow all medical advice.
- IF your employer offers you an option to return to work under light duty restriction, you must return and try to perform the work. Failure to comply, if offered, can result in termination of benefits. If you return and the duties are too physically demanding, notify your employer and case manager immediately.
Compensation for injuries can include:
- Medical bills and expenses
- Lost wages
- Vocational rehabilitation
- Death benefits
An employee has a limited amount of time to file a claim. The process begins with the Form WC-14.